You Can Lead A Horse To Water …..

February.17.2009 at 10:44 pm Leave a comment

Dear Journal,

I mentioned that a previous co-worker asked for help on what to do when he graduates. Well we decided to meet at my apartment at 07:45 Monday night.

Even though we worked with each other for about 2 -3 years, I was surprised how little he knew of me when we were talking. I know general and some details things about him, but nothing like my best friend.

It was surprising he didn’t know it took me 6 years to graduate from college, or what I went through when I was finding a job (I’ll admit that I took it harder than normal people), or the internships that I’ve had.

I kept on saying he should ask this other guy we both know what I went through during my last year in school or how much I love Apple (we somehow got onto the topic of hobbies).

Anyway, I left work early so I called him letting him know to drop by at 07:00 if he wanted to, well he didn’t show up until 08:30. He finally arrived and I went outside to open the gate for him

We walked in and I went into my bedroom to put my jacket away. As I came back out, I saw him standing at the door still. Puzzled on why he didn’t just come in, I asked him to make himself comfortable.

So we sat on the floor and I tried my hardest to help him with whatever he needed. I was asking him questions about what he wanted to do and also let him know some questions he might be asked during interviews.

It feels like he’s unsure of what he’s doing still and I asked him that as well. He said he really didn’t know what he wants and that ultimately getting a degree was to make his parents happy.

He wants to get an internship and study abroad afterwards. The problem with that is some internships are directly aimed at sophomores / juniors, not graduating seniors. Also most aren’t permanent positions, they last from 3 months to a year.

I also asked if he was serious about studying abroad and if he’s done researched on it. He says he has, but it sounds like he hasn’t thought through it, as if reality hasn’t hit him yet.

We then went over his resume and I let him know it didn’t seem like it’s focused to any particular industry or position, that it’s really open-ended. 

I was honest with him, I felt like if I wasn’t that it wouldn’t help him at all. That it would be like watching him fail, even though I could have helped him

The truth is painful. Deep down, nobody wants to hear it, especially when it hits close to home. Sometimes we tell the truth because the truth is all we have to give. Sometimes we tell the truth because we need to say it out loud to hear it for ourselves. And sometimes we tell the truth because we just can’t help ourselves. Sometimes, we tell them because we owe them at least that much.

I asked him a lot of questions, hoping somehow a light bulb would turn on and he would have an idea of what career he would be interested in. He seems like he has numerous interests, but can’t pinpoint one that he can actively pursue.

In the end I know he’ll do well, he just needs to focus and he knows that. He’s a smart guy and it’s going to take some real effort on his part to get what he wants. 

I hope he does well, kind of nervous for him, but hoping for the best.

Life isn’t easy, it’s no walk in the park by any means. You have to put real effort and time into whatever you do to make it successful:

  • Whether it be finding a job 
  • Maintaining your friendship / relationship 
  • Or learning a new hobby

You can’t just take the easy route because you didn’t want to put in the time and effort. In the end, it’ll always fuck you up … no matter what … it’ll always fuck ….. you ….. up.

If it’s genuinely important, it’s easy to make that sacrifice and put in the time and energy into making it successful.

Because in the long run … … in the long run, it’ll be so worth it. And when you look, that sense of achievement is there, that’s something no one can ever take away from you.

– A

Entry filed under: Life, Personal, Thoughts.

Some Personal Updates The Journey Ahead

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

The short version: Guy in his late-20's, loves technology (especially Apple) and his close friends, eating ice cream on his bright yellow couch and finally .. I'm gay.

But you can read the long version HERE

Quotes Of The Day

- "In the end, every relationship needs maintenance …Whether it’s the smallest gesture …or just picking up back where you left off. The bottom line is that if you care about someone, it’s pretty easy to make the sacrifice."

- J.D. (From Scrubs)

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives


Click to view my Personality Profile page

