Moving Time Already?

February.9.2009 at 10:50 pm 2 comments

 

Living Without Cable for a Week

Living Without Cable for a Week

Source: Flickr.com 

Dear Journal,

I came home around 07:15 tonight, which is early for a change. It was nice to actually enjoy dinner without gulping it down like I was in a race.

Anyway, I got my keys to open the door when I noticed a letter on it. They’re doing renovations around my complex so I thought it was a notice about it.

But to my surprise it was from my apartment manager reminding me that my lease was up in April, and that if I renewed it by the 23rd, I could keep the same price.

As I was reading it I couldn’t believe it. I mean it feels like I just moved in yesterday and we’re talking about renewing my lease already. This guy I knew remembers without hesitation that I moved in May, which I was doubtful of, guess he was right.

I’m not ready to deal with this yet, I still haven’t spoken to my parents about getting a house. Two more months and my lease is up, and time is going to fly and I can’t push this to the side anymore.

So I’m going to talk to my parents this weekend about it, either we start looking now or I renew my lease for another year. My cousin was thinking about moving out, and I was contemplating about asking if he wanted to get a place together.

It would be nice to finally come home and have someone there, instead of silence and it would help me save some money. But I don’t like mixing money with family, it somehow always turns out bad.

Speaking of saving money, I was telling my co-worker last week that I was going to try and not watch any cable starting this week. I kind of cheated yesterday, but starting today no cable … I promise.

Cable takes a chunk of my budget and I could be saving so much without it. In a couple of months it’ll increase ~60%, which isn’t something I am looking forward too. Darn you AT&T, why don’t you offer U-Verse near my apartment?

So I could switch to broadcast cable (just your local channels) for $15 and if I really want to save just get rabbit ears since television stations will be broadcasting in digital.

I remember before moving out, I was talking to this guy I knew on-line about it. I remember him saying why even get cable when you can basically watch it on-line or download it. So that’s what I’m going to try and do this week.

Me living without cable, may the cable gods have mercy on me. Thank goodness I still have the Internet, that is something I cannot live without.

I know times are tough right now, out of curiosity have any of you guys started to cut back on “luxury” items, like cable to save money?

For my goal this week: talk to parents about a house … guess we’ll see what they say. I guess sometimes it’s convenient to push things / people off to the side, until it’s too late and we get fucked by it.

– A

Entry filed under: Life, Personal, Random, Thoughts.

Really … It’s Raining? That Thumping Sound

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. christam  |  February.10.2009 at 6:11 pm

    i’ve been without cable for a few months. but i have kids, so the economic pinch hit me a while back…
    you can live without cable. it’s tough, but you can watch alot at hulu.com or fancast.com for free. i’m actually kinda proud of the 50 bucks a month i save having cancelled cable.
    good luck with your goal of the week.

    Reply
  • 2. - A  |  February.10.2009 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks, my co-workers mentioned Hulu.com too, haven’t heard about fancast.com but I’ll definitely check it out.

    I’m hoping cable won’t lure me back in, 🙂 .

    Thanks … we’ll see what my parents say when I discuss it about them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

The short version: Guy in his late-20's, loves technology (especially Apple) and his close friends, eating ice cream on his bright yellow couch and finally .. I'm gay.

But you can read the long version HERE

Quotes Of The Day

- "In the end, every relationship needs maintenance …Whether it’s the smallest gesture …or just picking up back where you left off. The bottom line is that if you care about someone, it’s pretty easy to make the sacrifice."

- J.D. (From Scrubs)

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives


Click to view my Personality Profile page

