Excuse Me. Do You Speak English?

August.4.2008 at 1:30 am 2 comments

Usually on Sunday’s, depending on which week, I’ll go grocery shopping (mainly for fruit) and do laundry at my parents house. I don’t like using the laundry facility at my apartment complex like I mentioned previously. 

I didn’t have to do laundry this week, so I lounged around my apartment and decided to buy some fruit for this week. If you know me well, I’m a huge fruit fanatic! And I’m picky about it too, my mom knows this all to well.

When I was still living with my parents, my mom would usually cut fruit for my sister and I. If it wasn’t sweet or had seeds (e.g. watermelons, grapes, etc.) I wouldn’t eat it. Maybe a little just to be courteous to my mom.

Anyways, I usually go to this ethnic market to buy fruit because it’s cheaper and fresher in my opinion. So I was at the market when a lady passes me …..

Lady: Excuse me? Do you speak English? (With a British accent)

Me: Oh yeah (As I smile and laugh)

Lady: Would you know if they sell chips here? Like potato chips? 

Me: You know what, I”m not really sure. I don’t think they do at this market.

Lady: Oh okay, because I’m can’t read the signs here.

Me: Oh don’t worry, me either. I usually go up and down the aisles until I find what I need.

Lady: *Starts to chuckle* Well thank you though.

Me: No worries

I continue shopping when she asks a worker there, finds out that they don’t sell chips after all. “Yeah, no potato chips, that’s kind of weird”, she says to me.

“Yeah it is”, as I smile back at her and continue on my way. I was disappointed that there weren’t too many sales this week, guess I shall wait for next week.

I’m low on snacks at my apartment, so I’ll probably end up doing a Trader Joe’s run sometime this week.

Anyways, I just went back to my apartment to cook my lunches for this work week and did some ironing. They had I Love Lucy on and of course it’s my all time favorite show.

It’s funny how many times I’ve seen this show and haven’t gotten sick of it yet. I have Season 5 I think on DVD, well my sister bought it. They had the episode with the “Friendship” song, which is a hilarious episode.

Great episode if you get to watch it, especially the ending when both Lucy and Ethel find out that neither of them returned the dress they bought (both of them bought the same one accidentally).

On a side note, I absolutely love this song by Jason Mraz. Just puts a smile on my face whenever I hear it … guess it’s the gay side of me. 🙂

My throat feels a bit scratchy; I’m hoping it’s nothing more than that … hopefully it’s not because of me jogging. I’m excited for this Saturday, I’ll write about it this week … but can’t wait. I’m hoping it goes well.

– A

Entry filed under: General, Life, Personal, Thoughts.

Another Reason To Avoid Internet Explorer Good Morning …..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  August.4.2008 at 12:05 pm

    You’d think that they’d at least sell organic potato chips or something like that. Poor lady. On a hunt for chips and the store she goes into doesn’t sell any. Probably had a craving.

    Reply
  • 2. - A  |  August.4.2008 at 10:27 pm

    I think you’re right … she really wanted chips, even after finding out they didn’t sell them. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

The short version: Guy in his late-20's, loves technology (especially Apple) and his close friends, eating ice cream on his bright yellow couch and finally .. I'm gay.

But you can read the long version HERE

Quotes Of The Day

- "In the end, every relationship needs maintenance …Whether it’s the smallest gesture …or just picking up back where you left off. The bottom line is that if you care about someone, it’s pretty easy to make the sacrifice."

- J.D. (From Scrubs)

August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


Click to view my Personality Profile page