May My Sister’s Dell Dimension 4600 Burn In Hell

July.30.2007 at 12:48 pm 3 comments

Update:

After months of not fixing this problem .. I found that it WAS the hard drive that died. I recently bought a new one and installed it back into my sister’s desktop. After some frustrations of installing a hard drive for the first time … it finally booted up.

So my sister was backing up most of her songs, documents, and pictures to transfer them onto her new laptop. When she got the dreaded blue screen of death .. damn you Microsoft and your evil ways. Anywho .. after that .. her system froze and we got the dreaded error of, “Primary Disk 0 Not Found”. When she told me about that, my first and only thought I was, “There goes my day”.

This computer crashes more often than Lindsey Lohan goes to rehab. (Yes .. my bad attempt in humor). She get’s the blue screen of death more often than I can remember. I despise hardware issues because I have no clue how to solve them.

Googled the problem and after doing some research it sounds like her hard drive died .. it must have been a excruciating and slow death. I went through BIOS and it didn’t detect any of the drives except for the CD-ROM.

All it detects is “Nothing” which means it’s not even finding the drive. I’ll probably put it in my computer as a slave drive and hopefully salvage any data from it (if it’s possible). She has about 8 gig’s of music saved on it, which she only copied 3 gig’s of .. 😦 . She lost all her bookmarks from Firefox and IE and that’s awful because it’s hard to remember all of your favorite sites again.

Evil computer it is, may it burn in hell .. and her new laptop doesn’t even connect to our wireless network. More like it can’t connect to the darn network. Stupid Vista .. I’ll blame it on that. Or maybe it’s the wireless driver .. darn piece of crap shit .. 🙂 .

At one time I got frustrated and started to bang the hard drive itself, which I know shouldn’t be done at all. It probably damaged it even more. *blah*

And you know what I’ve learned by reading other blogs and just looking at myself? I sound like a juvenile when I moan and groan about senseless topics that have no rational basis to them. Just re-reading my post, I sound ridiculous and complain about topics that I shouldn’t even be worried about at all. Always making something small, larger than it has to be. Basically, I sound really stupid when it gets down to it.

I was laughing quietly to myself (lqtm) when I was reading it over again. There’s too many people who already moan about things, so why add it to? It just creates more nonsense in life. But sometimes it’s just nice to let it out because you might go crazy eventually.

But there are always friends out there to just tell you the truth straight up, smack you in the face, and say, “Hey .. you’re being stupid, stop it”. Sometimes you get so involved in your securities that a fresh perspective from someone else helps you create an ephinany of some sorts. There are always things you overlook or never see in your life that someone else does.

By the way, thank you for yesterday night. I wasn’t expecting you to go on. And next time .. it’ll be different. I’ll be smarter .. 🙂

I’m quite eager for it to be Friday … it will be nice to finally sleep in. It would be nice to do something that day .. something fun would do. As always ….

– Cheers!


Entry filed under: Computers, Dating, Friends, Fun, General, Life, Lonely, Personal, Random, Technology, Thoughts.

What Now!? This Day Has Finally Arrived

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike McGinley  |  July.30.2007 at 10:18 pm

    My condolences…..I hope your sister’s data has survived the perils of the hard drive crash…..in terms of the bookmarks, you may want to suggest that she use del.icio.us or another similar site so they aren’t lost when hard drives go bad.

    Reply
  • 2. Curious Me  |  July.31.2007 at 8:26 am

    Hi Mike, thanks for stopping by! I hope so for both our sakes. She got the majority of her data off (well the important ones) and it’s mostly her music that was lost though, 😦 .

    Thanks for the suggestion on del.icio.us .. that never came up on my mind. I think I will pass on your suggestion to her. That way this little incident doesn’t happen again. 🙂

    So the lesson everyone should learn … backup, backup, and oh yes .. did I mention backup?

    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 3. My Mom’s New Addiction « Moments Of Randomness  |  June.29.2008 at 10:22 pm

    […] Published June.29.2008 General , Life , Personal , Thoughts I’ve written before how my sister’s old Dell 4600 computer died last year because of the hard drive. I finally got around fixing it because my mom asked about […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

The short version: Guy in his late-20's, loves technology (especially Apple) and his close friends, eating ice cream on his bright yellow couch and finally .. I'm gay.

But you can read the long version HERE

Quotes Of The Day

- "In the end, every relationship needs maintenance …Whether it’s the smallest gesture …or just picking up back where you left off. The bottom line is that if you care about someone, it’s pretty easy to make the sacrifice."

- J.D. (From Scrubs)

July 2007
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


Click to view my Personality Profile page